Graduation Reception 2016

On June 10th, we celebrated the graduates of the class of 2016, who together earned sixty-eight bachelor’s, six master’s, and three doctoral degrees in philosophy, at the UW Center for Urban Horticulture.  Professor Andrea Woody toasted the graduates wishing them the best in their new endeavors, and Alison Bacon gave an inspirational speech to her fellow graduates.  Alisa voiced what so many of our students and alumni feel, that “philosophy shows us how important it is that we develop ourselves to be the best sort of individual that we’re capable of being. Philosophy has stoked a unique kind of fire in all of us, and I hope that it never dies out. So congratulations everyone, and keep pursuing that eudaimonia.”  We hope all of the graduates remember these words and continue to think critically of the issues of the day and of their lives.

We were pleased to announce and celebrate the Department of Philosophy awards recipients at the ceremony: 

Kenneth Clatterbaugh Scholarship: Raymond Aung Maung and Kelsey Ryan Walker

Friends of Philosophy Graduate Student Choice Award: Jocelyn Gonzales

Friends of Philosophy Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar: Julie Rebecca Michlal and Justin M. Zacek

Kenneth R. Parker Award for Excellence in Community Service: Matthew Henry Trawczynski

Friends of Philosophy Outstanding Graduating Senior: Zachary Keith Brants

Thank you to all of the families and friends who came to celebrate with their graduates, at one of the department’s favorite traditions. It was a lovely day. We are proud of our graduating students.  Photos from the day can be found on our Facebook page:


News Category: