Philosophy Majors

Bachelor of Arts

The Department of Philosophy offers two philosophy majors leading to a Bachelor of Arts:

Declaring The Major

Students who have completed 10 credits of Philosophy and have a 2.00 cumulative GPA may declare the major at anytime. Students currently in a Philosophy major may switch options if they wish. To declare or change options, simply make an appointment with the department’s undergraduate adviser.


Interested in pursuing honors as part of your philosophy major? See honors.

Not Currently a UW Student?

To learn more about applying to the University of Washington as an incoming or returning student, see Undergraduate Programs.