Department Awards Ceremony 2022

Submitted by Kate Goldyn on
Undergraduate Award Winners

The Department of Philosophy celebrated the achievements of our students and faculty at our annual awards ceremony on May 20, 2022. We were able to return to an in-person celebration in Savery Hall, and we were thrilled to celebrate our award winners’ accomplishments together. Our heartfelt tradition of sharing personal anecdotes about each recipient continued, to the delight of family, friends, and classmates. 

We are proud of the accomplishments of all our department members and look forward to seeing what they achieve in the future.

Congratulations to all our award winners!

Outstanding Undergraduate Scholar Awards: Wendy Zhou & Isaac Zhu 

Outstanding Graduating Senior Awards: Alex Fang & Jonathan Friesen

Graduate Student Choice Award: Wendi Zhou

Kenneth Clatterbaugh Scholarship: Ruby Higashi

Kenneth R. Parker Award for Excellence in Community Service: Wendi Zhou 

Thomas Hankins Essay Prize in History & Philosophy of Science: Sam D’Ambrosia

Honorable Mention: Andrew Tice

College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Medal Nominee: Alex Fang 

Husky 100: Wendi Zhou

Philosophy Writing Center Tutors: Olivia Bishop, Nate Pedersen, Aaron Rosser, Wendi Zhou 

Undergraduate Philosophy Journal: The Garden of Ideas: Braeden Giaconi, Harrison Fitch, Nicole Acosta

Department of Philosophy Graduate Teaching Award: Nic Jones

Melvin Rader Summer Grant: Arthur Obst

Simpson Center Graduate Research Cluster Grant: Erika Versalovic

Chester William Fritz Scholarship: Kayla Mehl-Hutchinson

LA Review of Books Workshop: Daniel Galley

Robinson Family Faculty Initiative Grants: Summer Research Reading Groups

Simpson Center Society of Scholars: Carole Lee

National Science Foundation Grant: Benjamin Feintzeig 

2021 Alan Saunders Lecture, Australian Association for Philosophy: Stephen Gardiner